DIY: Mini Garden Easter Basket

April 4, 2015 § Leave a comment

image

This year I wanted to do something a bit different. I wanted something other than putting filled eggs in a basket, because in reality the candy ends up sitting in our kitchen table for quite some while and Angelo gets no benefit from that. (FYI: Angelo really does not eat candy or anything really sweet. I’ve tried and he just has no interest besides lollipops.) I wanted to do something that would help Angelo with touch, feel and smell. So, I came up with the idea of making him his first little garden. I had seen a ton of ideas on Pinterest so I decided to create our own. imageMaterials:

-basket or crate (Michaels, Target, Hobby Lobby)

-Sunflower seeds or any of choice. (Sunflowers grow pretty quick and are a great sight see for the kids. They sprout in about 7-10 days.)

-Marigolds (Marigolds are a great flower plant for kids to grow due to their vibrant colors)

-Cilantro (Herbs are easy to grow and can be grown in small to medium pots)

-Gardening tools: kid-sized trowel, spade, shovel, water bucket, and gloves (I bought ours at Target)

-Extra goodies: I decided to add a book, a stuffed chick, fake grass, and Target had a little bunny bag filled with M&M so I grabbed it just to have something “sweet”

imageimage

I can’t wait to place this in our patio and have Angelo wake up to it. This is a great way to show kids responsibilities and have them learn the beautiful creation of nature. I know Angelo will love this! Angelo is such a visual person and watching the seeds sprout and then grow day by day is going to be an enjoyable moment.

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

I hope you guys enjoyed this DIY and can have your kids grow their first garden in such a fun way!

HAPPY EASTER! HAPPY EASTER! HAPPY EASTER! HAPPY EASTER!

Xox,
dee ❤
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DIY: Mini Garden Easter Basket at Modern World Momma.

meta

